17-10-2015   |   EFFENAAR, EINDHOVEN (NL)




energy, melody, brutality

Purest of Pain is formed in 2008 by lead guitarist and songwriter Merel Bechtold. From that moment also Ilja van de Rhoer (vocals) and Frank van Leeuwen (bass) were in the band. After some line-up changes the band was complete in 2010 with Jop Engels (drums) and Daan van Houten (rhythm guitar). With their first show in that line-up they won the band competition Gooise Goden in a sold out venue.

Early 2011 Purest of Pain got selected for the regional band competition Clash of the Titans. About sixty bands were selected to participate in this non-metal competition. Purest of Pain finished on the second place and won a support show with the Brazillian band Torture Squad. They also won Gooise Goden for a second time in a row and got asked to replace a band on the Hell On Earth Tour, which included Unearth and Evergreen Terrace. Around the same time Purest of Pain entered the studio for the recordings of their debut EP 'Revelations in Obscurity'. That summer the band played on the open air festival Occultfest with the English band Onslaught. In the end of the year they got praised for their successes with a nomination for the 3voor12/Utrecht award for 'Best Live Act'.

2012 started good with a support show for Mayan and shortly after two other sold out shows followed. That year Purest of Pain shared the stage with many great bands, including Attack Attack!, Grave, All Shall Perish, Melechesh, Delain, Cattle Decapitation, Incantation and many more. One of the highlights of 2012 was a sold out show together with Suicide Silence. Later that year they did a short tour through France and they got an endorsement with both Engl Amplifiers and Rockstar Energy Drink.

In 2013 the band did another short tour, this time through Austria. Shortly after they shared the stage with the English hardcore band Heart In Hand and they played on the open air festivals Bevrijdingsfestival together with Textures, for a second time on Occultfest and as headliner on Willems Wondere Weiland. In May Daan van Houten and Ilja van de Rhoer decided to leave the band. After some successful auditions Purest of Pain welcomes guitarist Michael van Eck and vocalist Jesper de Kruyff. In that same period they entered the studio for the recordings of a new single and a videoclip for the song 'Momentum'. This year they got their third endorsement, this time with Bo-El guitars.

Mid 2014 the band achieved another highlight in their career by winning the Dutch Wacken Metal Battle, meaning that Purest of Pain played at the legendary Wacken Open Air festival in the summer of 2014. That year the band also played some other shows in Germany, Luxembourgh and Belgium. In that same period they got invited to play at the metal talent event Buma Rocks and they got booked for the support slot of Opeth in the Heinenken Music Hall in Amsterdam. Purest of Pain also started working on their first full-lenght album which will be released in the fall of 2015.

Purest of Pain is:
Jesper de Kruyff - vocals
Merel Bechtold - lead guitar
Michael van Eck - rhythm guitar
Frank van Leeuwen - bass


2015   |   COMING SOON

Recording full lenght album

2013   |   MOMENTUM

1. Momentum

Download here
Buy here


1. Intro
2. The Sickening Reality
3. Misconception In A Devouring World
4. Wandering Through Parallel Dimenions

Download here
Buy here


For bookings or questions, please contact:

Name: Frank van Leeuwen
E-mail: info@purestofpain.com
Phone: +31 (0) 6 247 06 305


Copyright © 2015, Purest of Pain